BIBLICAL JOY
A on-line Bible study group … you are welcome to join us

WEEK 29 – TIMOTHY AND EPAPHRODITUS

Timothy and Paul

Chapter Two: Two Models of Faith

Paul has two companions that would have been well known to the Philippians that he now mentions in the letter.  The reason Paul mentions Timothy and Epaphroditus at this point in the letter is because they serve as excellent models of the humble obedience and unity he has been talking about. Read verses 19-30.

1. What is his reason for sending Timothy?

2. What does he tell us about the character of Timothy?

3. Why does Paul chose not to send Timothy?

Epaphroditus

4. What is Paul’s estimation of Epaphroditus?

5. Why is he sending Epaphroditus?

6.  How do the examples of Timothy and Epaphroditus demonstrate humble obedience?

7. What do the examples of Timothy and Epaphroditus teach us about humble obedience?

3 Responses to “WEEK 29 – TIMOTHY AND EPAPHRODITUS”

  1. These verses remind me of how “we” as “Churches of God” should work together, sharing people who have special gifts that maybe a little sister church does not have.

    Paul doesn’t send Timothy at this time as he still needs him for the ministry he is involved in while Epaphroditus is home sick and his church misses him greatly and Paul knows that he will be a great encouragement and a great model for the people to grow in the Lord.

    We really do not like to “give people up” but I believe that God calls us to “GO!” and sometimes that means leave the cozy church you grew up in and go help another church that needs your gifts/talents.

    I left the nice cozy church I grew up in, that my parents attended for 60+ years, where my wife and children were attending, where I was an Elder and it was one of the larger churches in Ohio. I went to a small rural church with 25 people attending. 1 1/2 years later I am selected to be the Pastor after the Pastor I went out to help left the church. 9 1/2 years later I am still the Pastor and God continues to bless my obedience.

    Paul hated to see Epaphroditus go but knew God would use him in a powerful way. Listen to God and do His will, no more, no less and He will bless. hehehe that even rhymes!!!

  2. […] spend time reflecting on how Timothy and Epaphroditus are Models of Faith, click on the image above or go to: […]


Leave a comment